?

Log in

28 June 2006 @ 02:12 pm
The Fic: I Won't Say It
The Author: Melora Maxwell
Rating: PG-13 (I absolutely refuse to use the FFN system)
Fandom: Disney's Hercules
In a Nut Shell: "After the little incident with Hercules, Hades has been repaid on the scales of cosmic justice by finding Persephone, goddess of rebirth and woman of his dreams."
Stand-out Pairings: Hades/Peresphone (duh), and smatterings of Hercules/Megara and Bremos/Nike (You'll see...)
Grammar/Spelling: 9.5/10. The occasional misspelling and grammatical error, but everyone does that.
Originality and Creativity: 10/10. The way this author manages to combine the original Greek myths with the Disney version is outstanding. And after taking care of the actual abduction-myth-with-consequences, things get interesting. Plus, this gal includes the other pantheons - the Egyptian one is playing a prominent role in the latest chapters.
Plot and Characterization: 10/10. Squee! Aside from the bit of mushiness, Melora does an excellent job of keeping Hades in characters, and her takes on the other gods stay faithful to those in the Disney version (with some liberties, obviously) as well as inserting "original" characters (her own takes on the gods not present in the movie) that fit in beautifully with the established setting but still retain their own quirks and personalities. <3
Status: WIP at 49 chapters, 120,013 words.
Nota Bene: Yes, Virginia, there are good Disney fics at there. And don't ask me what I was going in that section of FFN, I'm not sure myself.
Spoonage: None, unless you can't stand the Disney movie or you decide you don't like how Hades is portrayed.
 
 
11 December 2005 @ 05:53 pm
We're going to institute a poll system similar to that of octet_recs (for those of you who watch that as well) to get some feedback on the reviews. I just don't like them sitting out there, alone. So, every five or so reviews, we'll post polls for them.

To the pollsCollapse )
 
 
Current Mood: cheerfulcheerful
Current Music: Dream of Californication
 
 
05 December 2005 @ 07:37 pm
The Fic: Champions
The Author: Just Wolf
Rating: R (PoV: M)
Fandom: Harry Potter
In a Nut Shell: "After Cedric talks to Harry at the Yule Ball, Harry begins to think he might be more than just a Pretty Boy. Exploring the possibilities of a relationship between them during GoF."
Stand-out Pairings: Harry/Cedric
Grammar/Spelling: 9/10 The writing style doesn't get in the way of the fic at all.
Originality and Creativity: 9.5/10 I really like "what if" fics. So for so good, but it's a mixed bag as to how it ends.
Plot and Characterization: 10/10 Cedric gets some much deserved depth, and Harry is kept his capslock emo self. There's plenty of conflict in here, and eventually the authoress will have to address a little something called canon...
Status: WIP at seven chapters, 17198 words
Nota Bene: OMG HARRY/CEDRIC LUUUUUUURVE!!!!!!
Spoonage: I'm not a fan of prat!Ron, but I don't mind it much here. Don't expect too much from the "smutty" scenes.
 
 
14 November 2005 @ 10:26 pm
The Fic: Can't Say We Didn't Try
The Author: Just Silver
Rating: PG-13 (PoV: M)
Fandom: Harry Potter
In a Nut Shell: A get-together fic. Expected Harry/Justin, but results in Draco/Justin and Harry/Seamus
Stand-out Pairings: Harry/Justin, Harry/Seamus, Draco/Justin
Grammar/Spelling: 7/10 Line spacing during dialogue is nonexistent. Otherwise, it's rather eloquent.
Originality and Creativity: 5.5/10 They do get credit for the plot twist, but the general idea of a get-together fic is a bit stale. There are some good lines and humor in here.
Plot and Characterization: 4/10 Justin seemed a bit "weak", Seamus the stereotypical queer, and Draco was just OOC (IMHO). Dean was rather...meh.
Status: Completed at 14 chapters, 12920 words.
Nota Bene: I didn't like it firstly because I don't like Draco in a "he's actually nice" context. Secondly, the characters are all a bit OOC (or a lot). It's misrated (a big pet pet peeve of mine, as semchance can attest to.
Spoonage: SHE SAID IT WOULD BE HARRY/JUSTIN IN THE SUMMARY!!! WHAT IS THIS CRAP?!?!?!?! I WANT MY HARRY/JUSTIN!!!!! *capslock at j00 all* *rampage with steam shovel*

I was looking for Harry/Justin when the possibility occured to me. I foud this and wasted an hour reading it. After a long search looking everywhere, I have found no Harry/Justin fic or any Harry/Ernie fic. I guess I'll go off to try to find some Oliver/Cedric, Harry/Cedric, Harry/Neville, Ron/Krum, and Harry/Oliver.
 
 
Current Mood: confusedaccepting my fate
 
 
20 October 2005 @ 04:21 pm
The Fic: Sex God (Business!DT and Fangirl!DT: *wince*)
The Author: Hao - Chan
Rating: PG-13 (PoV: T)
Fandom: Kingdom Hearts
In a Nut Shell: New kid in school, automatically becomes popular, falls in love with school geek, blah blah blah.
Stand-out Pairings: Riku/Sora (Fangirl!DT: It's the only good thing about this.)
Grammar/Spelling: 3/10 (Business!DT: PUNCTUATION, DAMN YOU, PUNCTUATION!)
Originality and Creativity 0/10 (Business!DT: *clenches jaw* See below.)
Plot and Characterization: 1/10 (Business!DT: It's the same bloody damned high school scenario prevalent in EVERY DAMNED FANDOM.) (Fangirl!DT: That is not Riku!)
Status: 1 chapter; possible discontinuation (Fangirl!DT and Business!DT: Thank you, Powers That Be); 3423 words.
Nota Bene: It made my CRY to see my lovely fandom butchered in such a way. I go now to commit seppuku after allowing myself to submit to such dishonorable writing.
Spoonage: Get out the melon scoops, and if you're a devout fan of the games, keep the Magical Ice Cream Scoop of Happiness and Doom and the Steam Shovel on standby. In my case, I think I need to start investing in both brain bleach and one of those gigantic excavators strip mines use.
 
 
Current Mood: aggravatedaggravated
 
 
 
19 October 2005 @ 06:59 pm
The Fic: Mating Habits of the Species Shinigami
The Author: Kouri Arashi
Rating: PG (PoV: K+)
Fandom: Yami no Matsuei
In a Nut Shell: Fluffy piece narrated by 003, Watari's pet owl.
Stand-out Pairings: Tatsumi/Watari, some Tsuzuki/Hisoka
Grammar/Spelling: 8/10
Originality and Creativity: 10/10 (Business!DT: Silliness abounds in this fandom, but there's a lot of relatively original pieces floating around.)
Plot and Characterization: 8/10 (Business!DT: Tiny bit of OOCness, but it's not rampant, and the plot moves at a good pace.)
Status: Finished at six chapters.
Nota Bene: Probably shouldn't read unless you're familiar with the series, otherwise it might get confusing. Still, it doesn't rely too heavily on background information.
Spoonage: None, unless you can't stand rampant fluffiness. ^-^
 
 
Current Mood: pleasedstill pleased
 
 
19 October 2005 @ 06:57 pm
The Fic: Trigun 'Action!'
The Author: katsa5
Rating: R/NC-17 (PoV: M)
In a Nut Shell: A "behind the scenes" look at Trigun. With yaoi, drugs, language, sex, and all that good stuff.
Stand-out Pairings: Vash/Legato (Fangirl!DT: It's so bloody hot! *slobber*)
Grammar/Spelling: 8/10 (Business!DT: Some minor stuff, but overall, very good job.)
Originality and Creativity: 10/10 (Business!DT: Couldn't be happier on this point. This was a refreshing read, and luckily no one was stupid enough to blatantly copy (though considering how often I cringe away from the Pit, I could be wrong on this point).)
Plot and Characterization: 7/10 (Business!DT: Obviously, there's some out of character stuff, but it's still pulled off very well, and the plot is wonderfully complex, but won't make your brain hurt.)(Fangirl!DT: VASH/LEGATO! VASH/LEGATO!)
Status: Finished at 42 chapters (though it's more of a discontinuation due to the author's real life obligations)
Nota Bene: There are going to be squick parts, so be careful. No, seriously, I was tempted to run away screaming at some points. (Fangirl!DT: Though luckily it wasn't as bad as some of the stuff nefyr has told me, the sadist.)
Spoonage: None. This is a great long read while we're all waiting for that next chapter of The Mirror of Maybe.
 
 
Current Mood: pleasedpleased